Africa EENI Global Business School

Foreign Trade in Sierra Leone

Business in Sierra Leone, Freetown, Kenema, Makeni, Temne, Mende

Sierra Leone (Salona in Krio language) is a West African country

  1. Sierra Leonean capital is Freetown
  2. Largest Sierra Leonean cities by population:
    1. Freetown (West urban district, 1 million inhabitants)
    2. Bo (Bo district, 150,000 inhabitants)
    3. Kenema (Kenema district, 129,000 inhabitants)
    4. Makeni (Bo district, 83,000)
    5. Koidu Town (Kono district, 80,000)
    6. Lunsar (Port Loko district, 24,000 inhabitants)
    7. Port Loko (Port Loko district, 23,000 inhabitants)
    8. Pandebu-Tokpombu (Kenema district, 20,000 inhabitants)
    9. Kabala (Koinadugu district, 19,000 inhabitants)
  3. Main Sierra Leonean economic activities: gold and diamond mining
  4. Sierra Leone is one of the poorest countries in the world
  5. 66% of the Sierra Leonean adult are illiterate
  6. Sierra Leone share borders with Guinea (Guéckédou) and Liberia

Study Online at EENI Global Business School

Study a Master in Business in Sierra Leone Sierra Leonean Students from Sierra Leone

  1. Masters: Business in Africa, International Business, Foreign Trade, Transport in Africa
  2. Doctorates: African Business, World Trade, Global Logistics

Sierra Leone (Masters and Doctorates, International Business)

Masters and Doctorates in International Business adapted to the Sierra Leonean Students.

More information: Business in Sierra Leone, at EENI Website.

International Trade and Business in Sierra Leone

  1. Total Sierra Leonean area: 71,740 km²
  2. Total Sierra Leonean population: 7 million inhabitants
    1. 2000: 4 million inhabitants
    2. Average density: 76 inhabitants per square kilometer
    3. In 2008, 37% of the Sierra Leonean married women were in polygamous union
  3. Climate of Sierra Leone: tropical
  4. Calling code of Sierra Leone: 232
  5. Country code top-level domain of Sierra Leone: .sl
  6. Currency of Sierra Leone: Leone

West Africa (Trade, Business) Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo

The four provinces of the Republic of Sierra Leone are:

Sierra Leone

  1. West Zone
    1. Urban district (Freetown)
    2. Rural district (Waterloo)
  2. East province (landlocked). The districts of the East province are:
    1. Kailahun (Kailahun)
    2. Kenema (Kenema)
    3. Kono (Koidu)
  3. Southern Province. The districts of the Southern Province are:
    1. Bo (Bo)
    2. Bonthe (Bonthe)
    3. Moyamba (Moyamba)
    4. Pujehun (Pujehun)
  4. North province. The districts of the North province are:
    1. Bombali (Makeni)
    2. Kambia (Kambia)
    3. Koinadugu (Kabala)
    4. Port Loko
    5. Tonkolili (Magburaka)

Trade Organisations (Sierra Leone)

  1. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
  2. West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ)
  3. Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD)
  4. Mano River Union (MRU)

West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ): The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone

  1. African Development Bank
  2. African Union
  4. Economic Commission for Africa

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone...

Logistics in Sierra Leone:

Sierra Leone has the largest African natural port

  1. Main port cities: Bonthe, Freetown, Sherbro Island and Pepel.
  2. 800 kilometres of navigable waterways in Sierra Leone

Access to the Dakar-Lagos Corridor

Dakar-Lagos Corridor: Mauritania, Senegal, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin, and Nigeria

  1. Roads: Conakry (Guinea) and Monrovia (Liberia)

Lungi International Airport

Religion in Sierra Leone

  1. Islam (78% of the Sierra Leonean population)
  2. African Traditional Religions
  3. Christianity (21%)

Peaceful coexistence between Muslims and Christians

Main languages and ethnicities Sierra Leonean

The official language of Sierra Leone is English (only spoken by 15% of the Sierra Leonean).

Sierra Leonean African languages (in million speakers):

  1. Krio (Creole, Niger-Congolese) is spoken by 90% of the Sierra Leonean
  2. Mendé (30% of the population)
  3. Temne (25% of the population)

More than sixteen ethnicities live in Sierra Leone.

  1. Temne (North of Sierra Leone and Freetown, represent 35% of the population, 85% are Muslims)
  2. Mende (South-east of Sierra Leone, 31% of the population, 70% are Muslims)

Krio (descendants of the freed African-American and Antillean slaves) are an important minority.

History of Sierra Leone

  1. 15th Century: occupation of Sierra Leone by Mandinka, Mendé, Temne and Soussou
  2. 1460: arrival of the first Portuguese
  3. 16th Century: Slave Trade
  4. 1787: Freetown is bought by the English. Former slaves importation
  5. 1792: British colony
  6. 1961: Independence from the United Kingdom
  7. 1991 - 2002: Sierra Leonean civil war (soldier childs)
  8. 2014: Ebola hatching
  9. Sierra Leone is currently at peace

Higher Education in Sierra Leone

  1. Fourah Bay College (the oldest West African University, founded by the English in 1827)
  2. University of Makeni
  3. University of Njala (Bo district)

Study a Master International Trade in Spanish Sierra Leona Trade and Business in Africa (French) Sierra Leone Study, Master, Global Business, Foreign Trade, Portuguese Serra Leoa

(c) EENI Global Business School We do not use cookies